top of page

My Maker; The Comforter


Photo by D. Jameson RAGE on Unsplash

I really love the wind.

It takes me back to those days when I used to sit in the shades of this tree in front of my school every time I missed the bus home on my elementary days. I never worried about getting home in time. I could always call my Mom to pick me up. I especially never mind the waiting. Cause then I’d get to be here, on my own in peace, under the tree.

The weather is almost always too hot and humid in Pekanbaru. So walking home would always be like going on a free tan. I’d walk home if there were nobody home to pick me up, but most of the time I’d rather stay and wait. I’d sit on the grasses and look to the streets. I’d think alone. I’d think of life. I’d look to the sky and admire them. I’d think about God, and how blessed I am to be able to enjoy nature this way.

And when it gets too hot, and the shadows of the tree fails to shade me, I’d still think of the Lord and how wonderful He is. I’d hum and sing. Songs of praises and joy. I may not have any drink to satisfy my thirst, I still didn’t mind. Deep in my heart I know He’d find a way to ease my discomfort, in ways that I could never think of, out of my own control. I have always believed in that.

That’s when the wind came. And it blew stronger each time it gets hotter.

I really love the wind.

It reminds me of the Maker; My Comforter.

“Then the Lord God provided a leafy plant and made it grow up over Jonah to give shade for his head to ease his discomfort, and Jonah was very happy about the plant.” Jonah 4:6

bottom of page